The White House Nursery and Preschool follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is a statutory document drafted by the government. The guidance details the seven areas of learning and development, these are divided into two categories, the primary areas and the specific areas.

Primary Areas of learning and development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language Development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas of learning and development

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each room at the White House Nursery and Preschool has been created with the intention of sparking the child’s interests and providing endless learning opportunities which cover all seven areas of learning and development. The staff act as the link between the child and the environment. We have drawn on the expertise of our staff, to create rooms which incorporate The Curiosity Approach as well as Montessori.

We provide the children with real items and the use of plastic is kept to a minimum. Children are given real crockery for mealtimes for example and staff role model and support children to learn that we need to respect the resources in the environment. The use of open-ended resources enables the child to direct their own play and use their imagination.

Independence is encouraged and children are given opportunities to explore and engage in the environment. Staff are trained to know when to support a child and know when to allow them to persevere in achieving something independently. Practitioners role model vital everyday skills for the children such as learning how to blow their nose or how to wash their hands. These are essential lessons but often it is taken for granted that children will just pick up these skills.

Close Menu